S.P.E.C.I.A.L: Fallout New Vegas!

Can’t talk: Fallout: New Vegas.

Okay… I’ll take a few minutes from skulking¬†around the Mojave Wasteland to give a few thoughts on the game.

First: this is more than a re-skinning of Fallout 3. There is a new skill: survival; and this new skill highlights the main difference in the feel of the game. Fallout 3 you were in a city. Yes, a broken battered city but it had an urban feel. This game is much more rural, even though there is more infrastructure.

In Fallout 3, when you picked up clutter, it really was clutter. You could sell it or find someone who would give you caps for the clutter in some sort of side quest, but it was mostly worthless stuff. In this game any piece of junk you find can be converted into something better. That something better might be simple “Gecko on a Stick” but there is that scavenger feel. I pick up something and I really don’t want to get rid of it. Resources are so scarce that everything has a value and everything can be used.

The other difference is in you faction alliances. In Fallout 3, your Karma determined how people reacted to you. In this game, people are more out for their own interests. I don’t care if you are the devil incarnate: if you are saving *my* town from other baddies, you are fine by me. Again, this brings a more complicated feel to the game. More “everyone is out for themselves.”

As for my character, I decided to go with a more Role Play feel as opposed to a min.max. In other words I am playing what feels right, not what makes logical sense. Truthfully, I think games are becoming so complex, playing a true min/max character is becoming more and more difficult. In order to really make the optimal character, you have to plan so far out ahead, choose perks that compliment each other without knowing how they work and so on that it seems like WAY too much work.

But anyway: my character is a bit of a 98lb weakling. High Agility (9), Intelligence (8), and Luck (7). Perception is at a 6, Strength, Endurance, Charisma are at a 4. Initial perks: Guns, Sneak, Repair. This girl is gonna sneak up and get ya before you even know I’m there. Or so the thinking goes. As for perks I took the Wild Wasteland, which is basically a bunch of easter eggs. Why not have fun with the game, right? This is also a Vegas game: so you NEED to have Luck and silly things are supposed to happen. I also took Intensive Training (for another SPECIAL point), Small Frame: the one that boosts agility but makes it easier to loose limbs, and Swift Learner.

I am interested in the Survivalist skill. I think it’s going to be very useful, but I didn’t initially tag it as one of my main 3.

How are you fining the game so far? What build did you go with and what are your initial impressions?

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Comments

  • Falelorn  On October 22, 2010 at 2:02 pm

    I am loving Fallout New Vegas. I personally think it is better than Fallout 3 (which is one of my favorite games).

    The main story and many of the side missions are well planned out and make more sense and the characters you meet in the wasteland are great.

    The radio stations are better this time around and I even find my self tuning into them when I am near one (Black Mountain… or similar named is great).

    While the game is not perfect, there are bugs, the PS3 version is a joke bug wise, the PC version I still can not play because of crashes, I have been playing with no serious issues in the 360 version.

    The crafting ability this time is awesome. So handy to get rid of ammo you do not need and make ammo for what you do and hardcore more… what a PAIN IN THE ASS! but fun. I plan on finishing hardcore mode after a play through or two.

    The new weapons are great and I can finally truly play a character like I want. This time I went with a Scout Sniper type of role. I am good with hand guns but I also have a couple good rifles with scopes (MODS ROCK!!) and if I need to I can switch to a Shotgun for some up close blasting. But I am sticking with handguns and rifles in most cases.

    I also like that you can repair your armor with similar armor. So if you have faction armor from the Legion you can use other Legion Armor and repair it. Which is great because using other armor types to sneak around is handy. Factions rule!

    I can’t wait to see what is coming in terms of DLC.

    Well back to Fallout NV more me…

  • niteowl  On November 17, 2010 at 4:53 pm

    I haven’t played this game although i did play some of the original turn-based one. However I just came upon a funny article about Fallout: new vegas…..
    http://www.cracked.com/blog/6-ways-fallout-new-vegas-made-me-worse-person/
    Thought I’d share.

Leave a Reply

