Help! Lost Dog

Please help, I’ve lost my dog.  Answers to the name  “Rex.”  He is about hip high, and hates rats and people with hats. Distinguishing features ‘include a visible rotting canine brain and cybertronic limbs. If you see him roaming then Mojave Wasteland, let me know, cause he is holding about 200lbs worth of cooking ingredients.

Seriously folks: any ideas? He is not at my base (the Lucky 38) and he is not at King’s School of Impersonation. I wonder if he is caught on some junk in the Mojave. Next time, Bethesda, all you would have to do is once you are able to recruit a follower, have a quest called “Rex” or “Boone” or whatever that you could activate to put a quest marker on your map that shows where they are. That would be great, thanks.

I also had one of those “ROLE playing game” moments. Cass and I were trying to find out what happened to her caravan. Spoilers: Crimson Caravan and the Van Graffs have something to do with it. You can do one of two things, either find the evidence through sneaking and lockpicking or go all Thelma and Louise and kick everyone’s ass.

We chose Option #2. Cause you know what they say: Revenge is a dish best served by me. Now, the Van Graffs are crazy violent jackasses who have their base of operation in the store that sells BIG BAD WEAPONS. Going in there with both guns blazing would be suicide. But Cass and I downed a flask of whiskey and did it anyway. Holy GEEZ! Super fun times! Once the smoke cleared we had a ton of great stuff to loot and a wicked story to tell. Now we just have to off some old chick and vengeance would be ours. Would be easier if I had my damn dog!

One thing I am finding in this game is that you can’t really min/max. In other words, it’s tough to build a character that is “perfect,” as this game encourages you to make tough decisions about character development. Case in point, I lowered my charisma to a four on ten; I also didn’t put any points into speechcraft or barter. After all, I didn’t really need this in Fallout 3, and you can’t talk your way around fiends. But that’s the point. You CAN talk your way around Ceasar’s Legion, the NCR and Mr. House. In fact you can beat final stage of the game without killing anyone. And there are many places in the game where there is some sort of check against speech, barter or other non-combat skills such as medicine or science. Bethesda made Fallout: New Vegas hard to play if you aren’t well rounded, which actually makes sense to the spirit of the game.

So, in this game I am really trying to not min/max as much as usual. I am trying to go with what I will enjoy playing. If that means a kinda screwed up character, then so be it. It’s too much fun to take it too seriously.

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Comments

  • 2Belts  On November 26, 2010 at 11:45 am

    You’re probably going to have to reload from a point where you still had him. He went AWOL on me too and after checking everywhere I could think of I ended up just reloading to get him back. It’s a pain but I think a patch is in the works to fix a lot of the glitches people have been finding…just in time for the first DLC to break the world again.

  • glamgeekgirl  On February 12, 2011 at 3:03 pm

    I know I’m late about this, but: The console allows you to make all characters (when you know their ID) appear in front of you. Very useful if you lose someone or someone runs away from their usual spot etc.

Leave a Reply

