Friday Open Thread: Black Friday Wishlists

So, this poor wee blog got ignored quite a bit over the past month, but I have returned. Fear not. My reader (s) were ever in my heart and thoughts. Over the past month I played a bunch of Fallout: New Vegas, got back on Magic The Gathering: Online (although that was very recent) and finished Fable 3.

Oh: Also everyone in the household was sick. Still are. The baby has also begun teething a whole 3 months early. It’s going to be an awesome time.

But that is in the past, and now it’s time to look forward. Black Friday is almost upon us. Black Friday (for my Canadian friends) is the Friday after Thanksgiving, which marks the holiday shopping season. Stores have doorcrasher sales like NOTHING we have here in the frozen north.  Say what you want to about Americans, they have us Canucks beat when it comes to making good iced tea, barbecue and sales.

So, this week is the week to let your friends and family know what you want for Christmas. Wait too much longer and it’s Tim Horton’s gift certificates. Which would be awesome.

This year I don’t want too much *stuff*. I would rather have consumables, services or digital content for Christmas.  I have taken up too much of the Earth’s resources. And besides, I have two small kids; the junk just piles up higher and faster. I have asked for Microsoft Points, cause I know there is going to be lots of DLC coming out for Fallout: New Vegas. Any Fable 3 DLC will really have to wow me for me to pick it up. Very disappointed.

As an aside, if you are going to give Fable a shot, hit me up with a friend request and I will gift you a nest egg to get going.

My mom is a huge fan of the Heroes of Might and Magic series: from what I can tell it’s a turn based strategy game from Ubisoft. She loves it and if I had it that would probably make Mom happy. We could talk about mutual games. The family that plays together and all that.

Other than that I am not sure what else I really want in terms of gaming. A chat pad would be nice, but again I am trying to stay away from getting stuff this year. I was wondering about a digital e-reader. I would save on paper waste, but I would have created electronic waste and that isn’t great either.

But if I WAS to break my “no stuff for Christmas” vow, what *new* IP do you think I should ask for? Or is there something on XBL Marketplace that is a must have?

What are you asking for this Christmas? Any great and wonderful plans? Let me know! Or just post whatever you are thinking about with gaming and such. Anything in particular you want to see?

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Comments

  • Dawn Logan  On November 19, 2010 at 11:31 am

    Well as my family doesn’t celebrate Christmas for religious reasons I won’t be asking anyone for a gift. Having said that…What I plan on buying myself for Christmas this year is a 46″ Sony Bravia TV and a wireless surround sound system so I can finally game in style.

    I found a few Black Friday sales (and pre Black Friday sales) on this TV and similar ones but I won’t have the money for it then. I am pretty miffed because I am going to miss some great sales. But I didn’t get my time sheet turned in on time so I am not getting paid today. My own fault but it really has me bummed today.

    OK dumb American question time… Why exactly do you celebrate Thanksgiving in Canada?

    http://dawnlogan.wordpress.com

    • yellingatpixels  On November 19, 2010 at 1:06 pm

      Same reasons as in the USA. It is to observe giving thanks and stemmed from the first harvests that aboriginals shared with settlers.

      We just don’t shop like you guys do. And it’s in October.

  • Falelorn  On November 24, 2010 at 11:42 am

    I plan on waiting for Steam’s Christmas sale and picking up a ton of games for dirt cheap. I already got one of my presents early and know the other ones because my parents just ask me what I want.

    I got an iPad (it rocks) a couple of weeks ago which is an early Xmas present because my laptop died. I am getting all of the James Bond Movies and maybe a new (cheap laptop). Plus my family is going to Vegas for Xmas so I get some time alone to do some serious gaming.

    I might be doing some Black Friday buying from Gamestop.ca, if their deals are as good as I hope they are. I guess Ill find out in a couple of days.

Leave a Reply

